Week One of Marathon Training

Well it is finally here.  Marathon training.  I can’t believe it.  Just saying it brings about a new intention and a new purpose.  This week’s workouts have been done with purpose.

Monday, July 3: Week 1, Day 1 called for 4 miles.  I did 4.25 at 13 minute/mile pace.

Tuesday, July 4: I had to work this day in the morning so it became a rest day. After work we went to the lake for a couple of hours and hung out with my brother and the puppy.  After that we went home and chilled.

Wednesday, July 5: Wednesdays are my cross training days but since I didn’t run on Tuesday, I decided to keep it simple and do a 5k.  I did 3.40 miles at 13 minute/mile pace.

Thursday, July 6: I had 5 miles on my schedule for this day, I wound up splitting up my run and did 3.76 in the morning at an 11:58 minute/mile pace.  I was hearing a coach I listened to a week ago say if all your runs are at the same pace your pace will never change.  I decided to push the pace and try to increase my “easy” pace by a little bit.  In the evening there was a kick-off event for the two big running events in Tulsa – the Tulsa Run, a 5k and 15k held the last Saturday in October and the Route 66 Marathon which is always the Saturday and Sunday before Thanksgiving.  As part of the event, the running store I work for hosted a 1 and 3 mile fun runs.  I decided to do the 3 mile and tried to stay with the 13:00 minute/mile coach.  I was successful with that.  I even beat her back to the store.

Friday, July 7:  I was supposed to run 5 miles today but am listening to my body and taking a rest day.  My legs were telling me how unhappy they were with me yesterday.  So I will most likely settle for a dog walk with puppy tonight.

What is on my schedule for the weekend?  Eight miles tomorrow which we are going to try to push pace (something they say you are not to do with your long runs).  Sunday is another rest day.  Although I might throw in some miles since I missed a run this week.

Until next week,

Candace

Leave a comment